13 June 2014

China map

People's Republic of China regions

The People's Republic of China is divided into 34 regions: 22 provinces, 5 autonomous regions, 2 special administrative regions and the claimed province of Taiwan.

Municipalities 直辖市 (zhíxiáshì)

The municipalities are the higher level of city which is directly under Chinese goverment, with a status similar to provinces. Beijing 北京市, Tianjin 天津市 and Shanghai 上海市 cities are municipalities.

Provinces 省 (shěng)

The most common division on China and the highest level of division after Municipalities. The PRC has 22 provinces.

Autonomous regions 自治区 (zìzhìqū)

A minority ethnic group that has a high population has his own government and a special autonomous province. There are five autonomous regions, for example Inner Mongolia 內蒙 or Tibet 西藏.

Special Administrative Regions 特别行政区 (tèbié xíngzhèngqū)

These regions are highly autonomous and self-governed, but not totally independent. Are like a sub nation inside the People's Republic of China. These two regions are Hong Kong 香港 and Macau 澳门.

China map

This map is property of www.nationsonline.org